body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

10 Jun 2016

Mad Dog “Dawn Of The Seventh Sun” 1969 US garage psych blues rock

Mad Dog  “Dawn Of The Seventh Sun” 1969 US garage psych blues rock


Monstrous and unreleased at the time heavy/psychedelic/west coast artifact of the highest order. This is one of the five best ever promo only releases to emerge from California. Only released in a quantity of a couple of copies to get a major record deal that never materialized. Three of the songs were used in a low-budget biker flick called “Black Angels”. The original demo LP had only a plain black label with no kinds of credits. The band is related with “The Zoo” of “Presents Chocolate Moose” fame.
The original producer said that a demo only LP was released by “The Zoo” after the “Chocolate Moose” album. The slightly different line-up had the name “Joyful Noise” (you can see a scan of the acetate in Hans Pokora’s 4001 record collector’s dream) but at this time they were looking for a tougher name to fit to the music and they found “Mad Dog”. Under this name a couple of test pressings were done. The album was amazing remastering straight from the mastertapes.
Howard M. Leese — acoustic & electric guitars, backing vocals, producer
Gary Witkosky — lead & backing vocals, tenor sax, flute
Vincent «Murphy» Carfagna — rhythm guitar
Terry Gottlieb — bass, backing vocals
Steve Goldstein — drums, percussion


01. Suite For Two Guitars — 1:45
02. Military Disgust — 4:59
03. Ala Ala — 2:37
04. Fort Huachuca Blues — 4:42
05. Everything’s Alright — 2:38
06. Dawn Of The Seventh Sun — 6:53
07. The Fast Song — 3:27
08. When It Touches You — 3:37
09. Soulful Bowlful — 4:52
10. Free Fall — 6:12  

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..