body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

7 Aug 2016

Morka “There Was A Time… “1972 Greek Hippie Psych Folk Rock

Morka “There Was A Time… “ 1972 Greek Hippie Psych Folk Rock…recommended…!


Excellent psych folk 70’s album. Sometimes, it reminds me the bristish Mellow Candle or Spriguns. Great musicianship and harmony vocals. …… 

"Probably the best psychedelic band that ever came from Greece. With members coming from Greece, USA and Canada and with a british female vocalist, "There was a time…” is here to blow your mind away!!! The band begun in 1970 as STONE DEEP and is responsible for the production of the rarest greek private single nowadays. Followed by many line-up changes, MORKA presented 2 more singles for Greek POLYDOR in 1972 and the next year they made their 7-track magnus-opus demo. This album contains all their 3 singles plus the 7 tracks of the unreleased back in 1973 demo. All the elements that make an album to be a treasure for the psychoheads are present. Excellent male-female vocals (all but one sung in english), lots of harmonies and melodies, tons of fuzzy guitars and bombastic drum breaks. The late 60’s American psychedelic and the early 70’s British acid-folk influences are obvious in this album but MORKA play their own game. Comes in a gatefold (unipak) cover, with a front-cover painting by Pamela Leake - Morka’s female singer - with lots of photos and memorabilia, band bio, insert with the lyrics and a big-sized (40x60cm) poster - also Leake’s painting. The album also contains a totally unreleased song by a 1986 Morka reincarnation.“…. 

O Dorian Kόκας και ο John Jungemann σχημάτισαν τους Stone Deep το 1970, μαζί με μαθητές του American Community School. Στη συνέχεια, ο Κόκας ίδρυσε τους Morka με τον Mike Μωραΐτη. Η Polydor κυκλοφόρησε ένα EP το 1971 με τέσσερα τραγούδια (δύο από κάθε μπάντα). Το 1972 κυκλοφόρησε ένα single (το οποίο θεωρείται ένα από τα σπανιότερα ελληνικά singles), πριν οι Morka ηχογραφήσουν ένα demo επτά κομματιών. Τα κομμάτια αυτά δεν κέρδισαν το ενδιαφέρον των δισκογραφικών εταιριών και η μπάντα διαλύθηκε. Το 1997 κυκλοφόρησε ένα άλμπουμ από τη Mythos records το οποίο περιείχε και τα 13 κομμάτια της μπάντας (από τα τρία singles και τα επτά κομμάτια του ακυκλοφόρητου demo τους του 1973. Το “There Was A Time…” επανακυκλοφόρησε το 2006 από την Anazitisi records. …… 

Dorian Kokas ~ vocals, guitar, piano 
Mike Moraitis ~ vocals, organ 
Michalis Orphanidis ~ drums, percussion 
George "Tambre” Tambakopoulos ~ vocals 
Antonis Bravos ~ bass 
Paul Papadeas ~ vocals, guitar, harmonica, double-bass 
Pamela Leake ~ vocals, effects 

1. Fair Lady of 1860 (06:06) 
2. Fourteen Young Children (02:38) 
3. I see (02:19) 
4. And so she Flies (02:04) 
5. Squeezing Pimples (01:15) 
6. Winter’s here (03:20) 
7. Disassociation (01:08) 
8. Judy (03:53) 
9. Avenue Winter (05:31) 
10. She Shouts (01:53) 
11. Ann (01:45) 
12. Looking for the past (02:06) 
13. Giati? (02:20) 
14. Just like Ann (04:15)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..