body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

22 Sep 2016

Big Brother Ernie Joseph “South East Tour” 1971 US Psych Rock

Big Brother Ernie Joseph  “South East Tour” 1971 US Psych Rock
An unreleased album from the Big Brother/Joseph collaboration. Recorded during their tour in 1971, this great release also contains five never-before-released songs! A mix of blistering, fuzzed raveups and bluesy melodic tracks. Ernie Joseph’s lead guitar and soaring vocals are exemplary throughout! Embossed cover art…….
Supposedly “South East Tour” was originally released in 1971 under All American catalog number AA-5773-LPD. Not that we’re experts or anything, but we’ve never seen an original copy of the album which probably makes Akarma’s 1998 reissue your only real choice if you want to hear this set. 

The title and packaging certainly give you the impression this is a live set, but that’s not really the story here. Half of the ten tracks are pulled from Joseph’s earlier band - A Giant Crab Comes Forth. (I’m too lazy to pull the LP, but I think the songs are all pulled the first Giant Crab LP). The other five selections are billed as previously unreleased efforts, but tracks such as “Keeping the Faith” and “How Many Times” don’t sound like concert recordings to our ears. In terms of quality, the new stuff varies from ponderous boogie (“Satisfied Woman”) to mildly entertaining (“Truthfulness”). To be honest, Giant Crab tracks such as the fuzz guitar propelled “Hotline Conversation” and the blue-eyed soul-ish “Save Me (Save Me)” provide the highlights. by music emporium…
Line Up:
Ernie Joseph [Ernie Orosco] (lead vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, bass) 
Cory Colt [Cory Orosco] (lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, bass, organ, backing vocals) 
Stevie D [Steve Dunwoodle] (drums, vocal percussion, vocals) 
Ruben the Jet [Ruben Orosco] (bass, rhythm guitar, drums, vibraphone, saxophone, 1969) 
Brian Faith (drums, bass, 1971) 
Greg Munford (backing vocals, 1971) 
01 - Satisfied Woman [00:03:44]
02 - Truthfulness [00:05:01]
03 - Hotline Conversation [00:03:00]
04 - Thru The Fields [00:02:42]
05 - Keeping The Faith [00:00:38]
06 - Save Me [00:02:16]
07 - How Many Times [00:05:25]
08 - Directions [00:02:59]
09 - Look At The Way [00:04:18]
10 - My Love (Is Gonna Grow On You) [00:02:16] 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..