body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

17 Sep 2016

Black Sugar “Black Sugar” 1971 Peruvian Latin Funk Rock

Black Sugar “Black Sugar” 1971 ultra rare Peruvian Latin Funk Rock…recommended….!
This is a great LP by Black Sugar from Peru, released in 1971, it’s a nice mix of funk, latin, jazz, soul and some funky guitars. Dig the groove! ……… 

Black Sugar, the brainchild of Victor “Coco” Salazar and Miguel “Chino” Figueroa, was formed in 1969 under the name Los Far Fen, mainly because the group had a Farfisa and a Fender amplifiers as their only electronic amplification equipment. 

In 1970 the group was given the name of Black Sugar by Jaime Delgado Aparicio, a jazz piano player and arranger that at the time was the artistic director of Sono Radio, a Peruvian label. 

Delgado Aparicio, recognizing the talent of the young musicians, gave the group an opportunity to record a long play in 1971. Original compositions like “Too Late”, “Viajecito” and “The Looser” made this LP an immediate best seller. Black Sugar “Black Sugar” was sold in all South America and there was a release of the LP in USA by a Miami based label. 

The success of Black Sugar was not due to luck or marketing.Their members were some of the finest , if not the best, young musician from Peru. The arranger, “Coco” Salazar was also a fantastic guitar player; Miguel “Chino” Figueroa was the composer of almost all the original songs by Black Sugar, besides playing keyboards, he was also an inspired organ player; Jose Cruz was one of the most promising young jazz drummers; it is hard not to mention the rest of the musicians, players like Roberto Valdez, Luis Calixto, Antonio Ginocchio, etc… deserve an extensive description of their abilities. ….. 

Black Sugar is a funky Latin-rock band from Peru, mercifully reissued for a latter-day audience by Lazarus Audio Products. “Viajecito” is the essential track – the waka-waka guitar intro is the main attraction, although the basic track is funky, Latin, and mostly instrumental. “The Looser” and “Funky Man” also are hip, but lyrics on the corny side keep them from heavy play. The lead-in tracks on each side, “Too Late” and “Understanding,” are solid, and the rest are decent ballads. Although the singing is not the greatest, the acoustic guitar and conga interplay on the lighter tracks sound like something from Sabu Martinez’ Groovin’ with Sabu album. “Pussy Cat” is an ambitious jazz instrumental; with its Latin percussion, funky bass, and strings (not to mention the title), it could have been a cut from one of the better “blaxploitation” soundtracks. Black Sugar may not change many lives, but it does occupy a vital corner in the rare world of Latin funk…by allmusic… 

A1 Too Late 3:00 
A2 Viajecito 5:42 
A3 The Looser 4:10 
A4 This Time 4:21 
A5 Funky Man 2:03 
B1 Understanding 5:06 
B2 When You'r Walking 4:53 
B3 When I Needed Someone 2:42 
B4 Pussy Cat 4:54 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..