body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

17 Sep 2016

Gong “ Rejoice! I’m Dead!” 2016

Gong  “ Rejoice! I’m Dead!” 2016 new album…
Psych-rock veteran outfit Gong will issue their 28th album Rejoice! I’m Dead this autumn – their first without founder Daevid Allen ….
Featuring the voice of Daevid Allen on two songs and guest appearances from Steve Hillage and Didier Malherbehe, Rejoice! I’m Dead! is the 2016 release (and 28th album) from the enduring legend that is Gong. …   
Gong has entered yet another new phase in its four-decades plus journey with Rejoice! I’m Dead!, the follow up to 2014’s I See You the last album Daevid Allen was to record with Gong. 
A few minutes into listening to Rejoice! I’m Dead!, all doubts about the absence of Daevid Allen will be cast aside as contemporary and classic members unite to produce an undeniably ‘Gong sound’. 
Steering the band’s music into outer space and the inner ear, Kavus Torabi, Fabio Golfetti, Dave Sturt, Ian East and Cheb Nettles take the Gong legacy into fresh territories without abandoning the principles established by the band’s founding visionary Daevid Allen. 

Double LP on 180g heavyweight vinyl in a gatefold sleeve with an mp3 download code. 

“Inspired by the light, love and passing of our dear friend and inspiration, Daevid Allen.” - Dave Sturt…..
From the opening joyfully, proclamatory chord through the magnificent musical opus that is 'The Unspeakable Stands Revealed’ to the uplifting, triumphant coda of the last track this is an exceptionally good album. 

It is vibrant with deep Gongness but with no hint of pastiche. It presents an new inspiring mix of high musical ability, creativity and focus. And it is without doubt - Gong. 

The potentially difficult balancing act of being true to rich legacy of Gong, daevid and the memory of all that has been while not being weighed down by it, and at the same time as being true to themselves has not just been successfully accomplished, it has been totally vaulted over with grace, style and engagement. I find it hard to imagine that they could have achieved it any more completely than they have - daevid, I know, would be over-joyed. 

There are simply no weak tracks. After the 'flag-planting’ opening track comes the celebratory 'Rejoice!’ for our absent friend, the Floydian 'Kapital’ and two ethereal cameo appearances by daevid himself. The last three tracks put me in mind of the second side of 'You’ (yes, I think it could be that that good) in the quality of their musicality, narrative and even the 'inner’ journey they invite you on. 

I just cry at the end of the album each time I listen to it. 

The sound quality is fantastic, it’s a really well produced album. A triumph in every respect. 

I think the packaging for this regular CD edition is a didgi-pak with annotaed and illustrated booket. ……
Line-up / Musicians
- Kavus Torabi (Cardiacs, Knifeworld) / vocals, guitar
- Fabio Golfetti / guitar, vocals
- Dave Sturt (Jade Warrior) / bass, vocals
- Ian East / sax, flute
- Cheb Nettles / drums, vocals
- Daevid Allen / vocals (4, 5) 

- Steve Hillage / guitar solo (2)
- Didier Malherbehe / duduk (4, 8)
Songs / Tracks Listing
1. The Thing That Should Be (03:34)
2. Rejoice! (10:17)
3. Kaptial (3:21)
4. Model Village (6:43)
5. Beatrix (2:54)
6. Visions (4:29)
7. The Unspeakable Stands Revealed (11:49)
8. Through Restless Seas I Come (6:58)
9. Insert Yr Own Prophecy (9:36)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..





Cassete Deck

Cassete Deck