body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

25 Sep 2016

Improved Sound Limited “Catch A Singing Bird On The Road” 1973 Germany

Improved Sound Limited  “Catch A Singing Bird On The Road” 1973 Germany
This Nuremberg group began to play together as early as 1961 under the name Blizzards. They used the name Improved Sound Limited from 1966 onwards. In the late sixties, they specialised in delivering soundtracks for German television and movies by Michael Verhoeven. “Engelchen Macht Weiter, Hoppe, Hoppe Reiter” (1969) was the soundtrack from a Verhoeven film, released on the same label as the first Gomorrah album. I don’t know this one (presumably a late beat rock effort), but their self-titled double album for Liberty was very inspired by the American folk-rock of Bob Dylan and The Band. Dylan was mentioned several times in the clever lyrics (from now on written by Axel’s brother Bernd), for example, in “Doctor Bob Dylan”. Improved Sound Limited also merged some more European elements into their folky rock style, such as some fine flute phrases. Regrettably, their passion for American music led them closer to country music on “Catch A Singin’ Bird” (1973). Quite good compositions and lyrics (“The Dark Lord” was about Tolkien’s “Lord Of The Rings”!), but not exactly performed in the idle way most of us like, I’m afraid. Pedal steel guitar was played by Frank Baum and Ralph Nowy guested on trumpet and sax. Improved Sound Limited changed their name to Condor in 1976 and released a much worse album: “Rathbone Hotel” (1976). …Cosmic Dreams at Play
Line-up / Musicians
Johnny Fickert / voc, percussion, alto sax
Axel Linstädt / voc, guitars, keyboards, mellotron
Uli Ruppert / bass
Rolf Gröschner / drums
Frank Baum / pedal steel guitar
Ralph Nowy / tenor sax
Songs / Tracks Listing
1. Humphrey Bogart
2. The Dark Lord
3. Barricade
4. A Poet´s Conversation
5. Catch A Singing Bird On The Road
6. Sunday Morning After Church
7. Breed
8. Mountain Moonshine
9. Rio Bravo 59
10. Hot Biscuit Slim
11. The Dark Lord - Recited By H.C. Artmann (Bonus Track)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..