body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

4 Sep 2016

Kingdom “Kingdom” 1970 US Prog Rock

Kingdom “Kingdom” 1970 US Prog Rock 


or full in dailymotion 

The only album Southern California band playing music at the junction of psychedelia and progressive rock. The band’s sound is most often compared to the “Iron Butterfly” and “Cream”. The album has long been considered a rarity among collectors since the first reissue of the disc took place only in 2001, “Akarma Records” label. 

A California hard rock band with a sound somewhat reminiscent of vintage Cream, Kingdom released a single album (also called Kingdom) on Specialty Records in 1970, and the rarity of that original release has given the band a kind of cache among record collectors. This CD version from Akarma Records reveals Kingdom to be a solid rock band sporting impressive dual lead guitars, deep organ washes, a solid sense of dynamics, and appropriately gruff, John Kay-like lead vocals from frontman Jim Potkey. All the group really lacked was a set of striking songs, and while the opener, “Waiting, Hesitating,” the hard-rocking and bucolic “Back to the Farm,” and the ambitious, endlessly shifting eight-minute closing track, “Morning Swallow,” all show promise, little else here lingers in the mind after the last note fades. Still, the playing is impressive, particularly the dual lead guitar sound, which was still somewhat innovative in hard rock circles at the time. It would have been interesting to hear what this outfit might have come up with for a second album, but alas, a second go-round in the studio was not to be. …. 

Jim Potkey — lead vocals (all tunes except 06), organ, right guitar 
Ed Nelson — vocals (lead on o6), bass 
John Toyne — vocals, left guitar 
Gary Varga – drums 

01. Waiting, Hesitating — 2:21 
02. Everybody’s Had The Blues — 3:28 
03. Back To The Farm — 3:06 
04. Seven Fathoms Deep — 3:50 
05. If I Never Was To See Her Again — 4:06 
06. Seasons — 2:29 
07. Prelude — 3:02 
08. No Time Spent — 3:22 
09. Have You Seen The Lady — 2:51 
10. Morning Swallow — 7:58 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..