body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

23 Sep 2016

Mike Selesia.”Flavor"1976 Private Press California spiritual Jazz funk

Mike Selesia.”Flavor"  1976 mega rare & excellent  Private Press California spiritual Jazz funk  Highly recommended! 
This Album is a product of musical workshops twice a week for an extended period of time. Experimentation through concentration and the proper flow of energy has helped capture the improvisational themes on the album. Virtuous musical tones, ideas and rhythms are available to the listeners and performer of modern day music. these compositions are but a few of my musical ideas. I hope this album pleases the listener as it has enlightened and captured me. Many thanks for my musicians and their efforts of creativity. Happy listening Mike Selesia …… 

As mentioned in the CDRWL, talk about a surprise reissue! Deep Jazz Reality is a respected label out of Japan, who reissue obscure US based jazz albums. The package is very nice - an exact replica of the original single sleeve cover (presumably, as I’ve never actually owned one). There’s an interview with Selesia in the liner notes. The bad news is it’s been translated to Japanese, so not much help for us English readers. Maybe someone can translate it one day. 

Review: Fresno, CA based jazz musician Mike Selesia (who plays sax and flute) presented this fascinating hybrid of early 60s Coltrane, early 70s Miles Davis, Ravi Shankar and Jimi Hendrix. Album starts with the former and gradually moves to the latter. By the end we have an almost Kosmische Krautrock type sound, something that would have been comfortable on the Ohr and Brain labels. Wild fuzz guitar, fluttering flute, sitar & tamboura, hand percussion, haunting voices and reckless experimentation. As if the drugs kicked in about half way. Excellent album. ……. 

Mike Selesia - tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flutes, English horn (#6), T-Bone piano, balloons, tenor bassoon (#5,8) 
Ruth Selesia - tamboura (#6) 
Bruce Preston - bass, conga, belly drum, saxophone (#5,8) 
Nick Cisco (#1,3,4), Joe Kurpell (#2,4,5,7,8) - guitar 
Al Santana - drums 
Sam Saldago - congas, timbales, cow bell, percussion 
Lloyd Earhart - piano, organ, ARP string ensemble (#5,8) 
Guest Artist on Castle Spook: 
John William Malott (#5,8) - vibes, tenor saxophone, slot drums, tin cans, percussion, auto harp 

01. Mr. P.C. (Coltrane) - 5:21 
02. Brute Strength (Selesia-Preston) - 5:16 
03. Yusefs Way (Selesia) - 2:48 
04. Silvers Serenade (Silver) - 4:14 
05. Castle Spook (Part I) (Selesia) - 4:17 
06. Eastern Raga (Selesia) - 8:41 
07. Flavor (Selesia-Preston) - 8:55 
08. Castle Spook (Part II) (Selesia) - 5:56

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..