body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

4 Sep 2016

Secos e Molhados “Secos e Molhados” 1973 Brazil Prog Psych debut album

Secos e Molhados “Secos e Molhados” 1973 Brazil Prog Psych debut album 


full discography on discogs 

Legendary Brazilian band formed by João Ricardo (vocals, guitar andharmonica), Ney Matogrosso (vocals) e Gérson Conrad (vocals and guitar). With their unique sound (mixing glam rock, folk and MPB) and their exhuberant visual style and make-up (predating the emblematic black and white make-up of British rock group Kiss, though nothing suggests Kiss got their idea from Secos & Molhados). 

The band quickly became extremely popular, though the sexual ambivalence in the band’s on stage image caused some controversy. After only two albums recorded and released, the charismatic front figure and lead singer of the band, Ney Matogrosso, left for a solo career in 1974 ….. 

The phrase spoken by guitarist Mutantes, Sergio Baptista shows that, unlike today, attitude was something more than mere verbiage. And there was reason to be afraid. Brazil was experiencing the so-called “years of lead” and the artists had little room to express themselves. And in this context, the Rants and Raves was admirable. 

Secos & Molhados born through the leader João Ricardo, main songwriter of the band in September 1970. The following year, in April, the band gained two new members: Antonio Carlos (Pitoco) and Fred. Pitoco played 12-string guitar and harmonica, while Fred, a guitar of 10 strings and percussion. 

Inspired by Vinicius de Moraes, Cassiano Ricardo and Fernando Pessoa, the group makes a season in Kurtisso Negro, in the neighborhood of the bladder, in São Paulo, and soon attract a crowd interested in new things. One of the first fans would Luli, with whom João Ricardo wrote some of the greatest hits, such as “O Vira” e “Fala”. 

But Pitoco and Fred soon quit the group and João Ricardo goes on the hunt for a vocalist. Just knowing Ney de Souza Pereira, future Matogrosso, entering pro group, although lived in Rio de Janeiro. A few months later, Ney moved to São Paulo, entering definitively pro Secos & Molhados, in the month of November. On the same day, they record the “Flight” music for theatrical assembly Melee, directed by Antunes Filho. 

The two begin to rehearse and, in January 1972, make tests with various musicians and invite only, flutist Sergio Rosadas, the “Gripa” and also Gerson Conrad, neighbor of John. The band rehearses all year until their debut Half the theater, Ruth Escobar, a mix of house-night, bar and restaurant name house of hype & Boredom, where they get an unexpected success. 

In January of the following year, they receive an invitation to record in Rio, through the Val Moracy journalist. Go looking for musicians for the contract. 

They are two months in the state capital, while not receive Continental recording signal to enter the studio. 

Finally, assemble a band composed of Gripa (flute), John (guitar), Willy (bass) and Marcelo (drums) and rehearse during the months of March, April and May, when they start recording on 23. 

The songs are completed in a fortnight. Deliver the master for Continental, as they start working on making the cover. 

On 6 August, are the first LP release show at Theatre Aquarius in São Paulo. They note the look, with painted faces, a lot of production. 

The LP soon becomes an astounding commercial success, selling over 300,000 copies in two months, and, before long, become the home of a million copies. And it is no less. 

Besides the beautiful compositions of João Ricardo, the Secos & Molhados dare incorporating Brazilian elements with the rock of the Rolling Stones, an extremely intelligent and fun mix. ….. 

1973 - Secos & Molhados 
1974 - Secos & Molhados (II) 
1978 - Secos & Molhados (III) 
1980 - Secos e Molhados (IV) 
1980 - Secos & Molhados ao vivo no Maracanãzinho (1974) 
1988 - A Volta do Gato Preto 
1999 - Teatro? 
2000 - Memória Velha 

Ney Matogrosso: vocal 
João Ricardo: violões de 6 e 12 cordas, harmônica de boca e vocal 
Gerson Conrad: violões de 6 e 12 cordas e vocal 
Marcelo Frias: bateria e percussão 
Sérgio Rosadas: flauta transversal e flauta de bambu 
John Flavin: guitarra e violão de 12 cordas 
Zé Rodrix: piano, ocarina e sintetizador 
Willi Verdaguer: baixo 
Emilio Carrera: piano 

1. “Sangue Latino” (João Ricardo/Paulinho Mendonça) – 2:07 
2. “O Vira” (J. Ricardo/Luli) – 2:12 
3. “O Patrão Nosso de Cada Dia” (J. Ricardo) – 3:19 
4. “Amor” (J. Ricardo/João Apolinário) – 2:14 
5. “Primavera nos Dentes” (J. Ricardo/J. Apolinário) – 4:50 
6. “Assim Assado” (J. Ricardo) – 2:58 
7. “Mulher Barriguda” (J. Ricardo/Solano Trindade) – 2:35 

Lado 2 

1. “El Rey” (Gerson Conrad/J. Ricardo) – 0:58 
2 . “Rosa de Hiroshima” (G. Conrad/Vinicius de Moraes) – 2:00 
3 . “Prece Cósmica” (J. Ricardo/Cassiano Ricardo) – 1:57 
4 . “Rondó do Capitão” (J. Ricardo/Manuel Bandeira) – 1:01 
5 . “As Andorinhas” (João Ricardo/C. Ricardo) – 0:58 
6 . “Fala” (J. Ricardo/Luli) – 3:13 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..





Cassete Deck

Cassete Deck