body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

27 Sep 2016

Sweet Charles “ For Sweet People From Sweet Charles"1974 US Soul Funk

Sweet Charles “ For Sweet People From Sweet Charles"1974 US Soul Funk 
A supremely fantastic album, and one that’s always woefully overlooked in discussions of James Brown’s incredible People label! Sweet Charles, Charles Sherell, was a great lost soul vocalist who had a voice that was warm and mellow, with a sweetness that was often missing from James’ singing – but which sounded great with his arrangements and production. Fred Wesley and Dave Matthews arranged this one and only album, and the record’s a great blend of sweet soul tracks, funky numbers, and other stellar grooves. There’s a killer version of "Soul Man”, that begins with a very tasty break; the monster “Yes, It’s You”, which has a sweetly sliding intro that’s ripe for sampling; the righteous political “Why Can’t I Be Treated Like A Man”’; and lots of other nice ones too! ……
Sweet funk, sweet soul and sweet R&B from the great Sweet Charles aka Charles Sherell. A regular in the JB stable of artists as a musician as well as a singer. This is the guy who played bass on Say It Loud and Give it Up and Turnit a Loose!! He’s still playing around. Check out his site. James Brown on production of course! ….
Charles Sherrell climbed on board the James Brown soul train back in 1968, acting as bassplayer/singer and organist. He got thrown out of the band even before the major ‘Maceo & Co.’ walkout in 1969, but he evidently fell back in grace with the Godfather, who pulled him back in in 1974. 

Sherrell’s bass chops are stupendously funky, as is displayed on such Brown classics as “Say It Loud, I’m Black & I’m Proud”, “I Don’t Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing” and, post-reconciliation, “I Can’t Stand It ’76” and “Get Up Offa That Thing”. On his own, however, Sherrell traded in much of the vicious FONK for a slicker, more sophisticated bag of soul, going for a Marvin Gaye/Love Man approach. 

Dubbed Sweet Charles by the Boss himself, his sole solo LP is more sweet, lavishly arranged soul than lowdown, dirty funk. But it is appealing all the same.   …
A1 Strangers in the Night 3:32
A2 Soul Man 2:57
A3 Dedicated to the One I Love 3:55
A4 I’ll Never Let You Break My Heart Again 3:22
B1 Why Can’t I Be Treated Like a Man 4:03
B2 I Like It Like That 3:18
B3 Give the Woman a Chance 3:33
B4 Yes It’s You 3:02
B5 Outa Sight – Outa Mind 3:33 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..