body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

17 Nov 2016

Faust “71 Minutes” Released: 1979 Recorded: 1971 -1973 Kraut Rock Experimental

Faust “71 Minutes”   Released: 1979 
Recorded: Wümme, 1971 - 1973, except Munic A and Munic B, recorded 1975 at Arabella, Munic.
Who said that dinosaurs became extinct? 
And here and there. These fossils kraut scene periodically remind their fans about themselves and produce a variety of “live recording” and unreleased stuff. 
Another repression composed of lost songs and the early period of singles. 

Line-up / Musicians- Werner Diermeier / drums 
- Hans-Joachim Irmler / organ 
- Jean-Herve Peron / bass 
- Rudolf Sosna / guitar, keyboards 
- Gunter Wusthoff / synthesizer, saxophone 

This is a compilation of two other releases - ‘Return of a Legend: Munic and Elsewhere’ and 'The Last LP’. The 'Munic’ tracks (1 - 5) are mostly dense sound collages which feature lots of studio effects - a lot of time was clearly spent at the mixing desk. The technique is something like dub reggae, though the sound is a million miles away from Lee Perry’s. The two long tracks 'A’ and 'B’ are best - hypnotic beats, a dense soundscape with fragments of words or melodies breaking through every now and then. 'Meer’ is a ghostly fragment built around a slow piano figure, while 'Don’t Take Roots’ is almost rock music. The 'Last LP’ pieces have a brighter, clearer sound and at times are quite tuneful, as on the rippling piano/guitar duet of 'Party 6’ or the never ending descending scale of 'Party 1’. If you like Faust then this comes highly recommended; newcomers would probably fare better with 'Faust So Far’…. by Syzygy… 
4.5 stars. After “Faust IV” the band packed things in but in 1986 their label released “Return Of A Legend : Munic And Elsewhere” which was a compilation of unreleased and live tracks from the early seventies. Then in 1989 the label released “The Last LP” or some call it “Faust Party” which was again a compilation of unreleased songs and live tracks from the early seventies. No the band was not back together at this point. The label then combined those two albums to make “71 Minutes Of Faust” but they did drop some tracks in the process. I have to mention how amazing the album covers were for those two earlier compilation albums. 
Now I may not be the biggest fan of experimental music and it’s taken years for me to appreciate FAUST but man I love this particular release. It’s not as experimental, in fact a lot of this music is even catchy and CAN did come to mind several times. 

“Munic / Yesterday” opens with organ and distortion then a beat and more takes over after a minute. Vocals a minute later. The guitar is getting crazy ala Karoli from CAN before 6 minutes. What a great track. The beat stops 10 minutes in as we get a calm to the end. “Don’t Take Roots” features distorted guitar as these beats come in. Again this sounds amazing. Spoken words and laughter follow as the music stops. Strange sounds take over 1 ½ minutes in then banging sounds a minute later. More spoken words and laughter. This is one crazy tune man. It kicks in again 3 ½ minutes in. “Das Meer” has a relaxed beat with piano and vocal melodies. Cool sound. “Munic Other” has a beat with sax playing over top. Catchy stuff. It settles down around 5 ½ minutes and changes a minute later. Nice drum work too. “Baby” is like a sixties parody. There’s that Karoli- like guitar as a beat and vocals kick in. Yup this reminds me of CAN. Great track ! 

“Party 2” has this beat that I love as the guitar then vocals join in. Almost spoken vocals join in as well around 1 ½ minutes. Freaking amazing ! “Party 8” is a short piece with an electronic beat and more. “Psalter” has melodic guitar then another sound joins in then the drums. It continues to build. Clapping too. Vocals before 1 ½ minutes. It settles back before 3 ½ minutes. Nice. “Party 5 / 25 Yellow Doors” has this noisy rhythm as the vocals join in. Crazy stuff with yelling too. Nice keyboard work after 2 minutes. “Chronmatic” has these sounds that beat and pulse as we get atmosphere too. I like it ! “Party 6” is a short piece with funny Zappa-like sound affects. 

Well this is my favourite FAUST release so far and it’s amazing the amount of killer material that was sitting in the vaults much like with CAN….by Mellotron Storm … 

Seventy One Minutes… is based around the Munic and Elsewhere / Return of a Legend album of unreleased material, originally reviewed in these pages back in November 1986. “Enjoy some of the most hypnotic spells conjured up since PIL’s 'Metal Box’, or the best of This Heat, or even the father of them all, Can’s 'Mother Sky’,” wrote this enthusiastic rookie. There’s no reason to argue with that original assessment, merely to add that now that Faust are infinitely more fashionable, some people might actually rush out and buy the record this time…….. 

This is essential for any Krautrock fan or enthusiastic experimental or ambient listener. Wigged-out fuzzy acid-soaked proto industrial freak jams with unintelligible lyrics (as if that’s what you wanted this album for) with moments of harmonic clarity and beauty. You won’t be able to get this music out of your head. I like some of the more fuzzed out numbers like “Don’t Take Roots”; which sounds like a lost track from The 13th Floor Elevators. The intense and hypnotic shuffle of “Munic B” is also a standout cut…… 

Fantastic comp of unreleased materials from the band’s classic era , mostly completely new tracks and a few alternate takes. When this came out, the rather underwhelming Faust V tape wasn’t yet unearthed, and I used 71 minutes as a basis to assemble my own imaginary fifth album, consisting of tracks 2, 5, 3, 1, 4, 9, 13. For me, this sequence of songs rank alongside the debut and Faust Tapes as the most awesome things that this consistently awesome band ever did. The 6 remaining tracks are good-to-great as well, especially the restrained majesty of “Chromatic.” Which reminds me, does anyone know the story behind when/where “Chromatic” and “Party 8” were recorded? I used to think that they were later 80s recordings but now wonder if perhaps they are from Faust’s time at the Manor. In any case, they sound distinctly different from everything else…by….Phallus Dei ……. 

With Magma, Faust was one of the most important of all the European groups of the 70’s. 

Compiled from “lost” and unreleased material, originally released as “Munich & Elsewhere” on the 10th Anniversary of their disbandment (inc.prophetic pre-dub mixing) as well as most of the unreleased “Faust Party 3” LP. 

Intense, eccentric, hypnotic, a true timeless classic…… 

Songs / Tracks Listing 

1. Munic A (11:56) 
2. Baby (4:53) 
3. Meer (2:50) 
4. Munic B (11:49) 
5. Don’t Take Roots (4:22) 
6. Party 2 (7:05) 
7. Party 8 (1:23) 
8. Psalter (4:09) 
9. Party 5 (4:33) 
10. Party 1 (9:48) 
11. Party 3 (0:43) 
12. Party 6 (3:24) 
13. Party 4 (4:48)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..





Cassete Deck

Cassete Deck