body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

13 Jan 2017

Geysir ‎ “Hljómsveitin” 1974 Iceland Prog Folk Rock

Geysir ‎ “Hljómsveitin” 1974 Iceland Prog Folk Rock

Geysir is yet another mysterious band from the 70’s.Apparently they consisted mainly of American natives, which had settled down in Iceland in early-70’s.Bassist/percussionist Len Davidson, singer/flutist Judy Niblock and guitarist/singer Gordon Kidd met with guitarist/singer Gisli Gissurarson, stabilizing a band, that recorded one obscure LP, entitled “Hljomsveitin”, for the local Hljomploetur label.The year of release appears to be either 1973 or 1974. 

“Hljomsveitin” is a pleasant and smooth Psychedelic Rock album with notable folky touches and minor progressive undertones, but I am afraid that it has not much more to offer than some outdated music.Basically the Americans seems to have been influenced by the local tradition and the vast majority of the album’s pieces contain relaxed flute passages and lots of percussion in a rural enviroment, surrounded by the calm voices of three out of the four members.A few of these tracks contain some JETHRO TULL inspirations during their most Folk-tinged early material, lacking though the energy of the British band.In the sweet “A candle weeps” there is seeminlgly some (Mellotron?) strings included, but no credits are contained in the liner notes, while “Warrior child” has a certain string-section opening the track.The rest of the album is mellow Psychedelic Rock with some good lead guitars and decent vocals, but the music tends to be unoriginal and pretty standard, like having played a thousand times in the past.However the combination of flutes, acoustic lines and sensitive vocal chords are destined to please fans of Psychedelic Folk. 

Not my cup of tea.Mediocre work by this long-forgotten imigrants, which is very mellow and rather outdated.Recommended to fans of 70’s Psychedelic/Folk Rock, a pair of CD and vinyl reissues have appeared in the market….by apps79 ….. 

Line Up: 
Bass, Drums – Len Davidson 
Flute, Vocals – Judy Niblock 
Liner Notes – Svavar Gests 
Guitar, Vocals – Gordon Kidd, Gнsla Gissurarson 

A1 To My Little Lady
A2 Children
A3 Ocean Waves
A4 The Messenger
A5 A Candle Weeps
A6 Shine
B1 Thoughts
B2 Warrior Child
B3 It Is All Up To People
B4 Memories
B5 Fantasy Of Reality 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..