body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

15 Jan 2017

S.T. Mikael ‎ “Soul Flower” 1996 Swedish Psych Rock 2 LP Xotic Mind label in 1000 copies

S.T. Mikael ‎ “Soul Flower” 1996 Swedish Psych Rock 2 LP original Xotic Mind label in 1000 copies 
S.T Mikael “Psychedelic Jam”  Swedish Psychedelic Rock in 90’s video
listen full album on line sign first
“This double LP is the best album he ever released, but it’s his most unconventional as well. The four sides of “Soul Flower” all bear a different character: Side A is more or less the S.T: Mikael we know from previous LPs: the melancholic psychedelic singer/songwriter who records all his twisted songs on his home equipment with a skill and a passion seldom demonstrated elsewhere. Highlights here are the pounding “Godly” and the moody “Beyond the Haze”. Side B is the strangest but also one of the best. ST Mikael experimented with Turkish ethnical instruments and musical style elements, resulting in the magnificent title track, the intriguing “The Titans” and the exotic, fuzzy “The Turkish Flower”. Side C brings songs from one session and it shows ST Mikael in a very emotional, spiritual mood; he sings and plays his songs with the intensity of a young Tim Buckley. Highlights here are the long, semi-instrumental “Moving…Together” and the elegant “She Came with the Spring”. Side D only features two tracks; the dreamy, soft “The Night Stars” and “Summer In My Life”, a long jam (filling almost the entire side) recorded in the In Deep-studio with backing by Adam Axelzon and other friends. All of this resulted in an utterly stoned, mind lifting instrumentation with layers of exotic percussion, sitars going overdrive, spacy keyboards and burning guitar lines, an absolute best on an album full of high-quality psychedelics. ST Mikael proved once again to be a gifted songwriter and an unconventional performer with a very personal ear for acoustics and an emotional honesty seldom seen these days.” (– Crohinga Well) 

Released in Sweden on Xotic Mind in 1996, this 2-LP set comes in a folder style gatefold cover and includes an 8-page booklet. The cover is in M— and the records are both in Ex+++ condition. (For more info on my grading system, click on the “me” icon above.) For other albums by St. Mikael, plus albums by Adam Axelzon, Stefan Kery, and The Entheogens, see my other listings. 

A1 Back Home 1:10 
A2 Godly 10:10 
A3 Belly Drumming Soul 1:45 
A4 Evening Bossa 4:01 
A5 Coffee Break Improvisation 1:51 
A6 Beyond The Haze 7:32 
B1 Soul Flower 6:29 
B2 Worlds Within Worlds 5:42 
B3 The Titans 2:06 
B4 Sanat Michael 4:49 
B5 The Turkish Flower 5:48 
C1 Moving… Together… 7:55 
C2 I Just Wanted To Say… 3:55 
C3 She Came With The Spring 8:22 
C4 You Are A Light 4:53 
D1 The Night Stars 4:17 
D2 Summer In My Life 19:00 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..