body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

1 Feb 2017

Broken Bow & Idabell “One Garage, One Album, Two Fools, 3 Years” 1976 US Private Jazz Rock

Broken Bow & Idabell “One Garage, One Album, Two Fools, 3 Years” 1976 US Private Jazz Rock
An unusual private press release composed, performed and recorded by two guys in their garage. Surprisingly good production value and clever songs with a variety of musical styles and a healthy sense of humor in the lyrics. This is one of only 500 copies reported to have been presse……….. 

“One garage. One album. Two Fools. 3 years. You see here two guys who wrote and recorded their own album, in a studio they built with their own two hands. The music is indescriable: one critic tried - he said … :it is a social antedote for disco madness, a kind of … soothing rock and roll Renaissance … in the modern music sea of same-ness … I see a combination of Harry Nillson [sp], Randy Newman, and Joe Walsh in their style …” But whoever heard of a real love song for married people, or a Calypso song with a country & western break, or a song titled: “Please Buy This Song.” 

The two guys were Tom Colquitt and John Crow (I think) and their labor of love took the form of 1976’s “Broken Bow and Idabell”. Literally recorded in a garage that the pair converted into a recording studio (you can see studio pictures on the back cover), these guys wrote all 15 tracks (!), handled most of the instrumentation, and were credited with arranging, engineering, mixing and producing. From a technical standpoint they did a wonderful job as the album’s production values matched that of a big budget label. Musical the set bounced all over the spectrum, including snippets of Monty Pythonesque humor (the Calypso-turn-C&W ‘At the Laundrymat’), pop ('Something’s Coming’), hard rock ('Time To Be Free’) and progressive moves ('Never Have I Seen’). Sure it wasn’t perfect. Their quirky sense of humor ('Please Buy This Records’) probably pissed off lots of potential fans and some of their poppier stuff bore a weird resemblance to America (check out 'Everything Is Fine’). Also, nothing here was particularly original, but then when’s the last time you heard a top-40 act turn out something truly original? Besides, even though it took 'wm three years, these guys sounded like they had a lot of fun recording the album. In case anyone cares, 500 copies were apparently pressed, helping explain some of the asking prices I’ve seen on dealer lists. ..Bad Cat …….. 

A1 Something’s Gone Wrong
A2 Keep Me In Mind
A3 Spittin’ On The Keys
A4 Dear Lord
A5 Please Buy This Song
A6 Spanish Lesson
A7 Everything Is Fine
A8 Never Have I Seen
B1 Something’s Coming
B2 A Friend
B3 At The Laundrymat
B4 Without Her
B5 Un Paid Bill
B6 We Got Inflation
B7 Time To Be Free
B8 Goodbye And Goodnight 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..