body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

19 Feb 2017

Panko "Weil Es So Schon Perlt" 1971 recorded 1971 release 1983 German Kraut Rock

Panko "Weil Es So Schon Perlt"  1971  recorded 1971 release 1983 German Kraut Rock

Panko from West Berlin (not to be confused with the much later East-German band Pankow) musically reminds of Xhol Caravan or the early Embryo. The band mostly played long jazzy instrumental pieces, dominated by flute and alto saxophone, at times interrupted by mainly English vocals and some follies. The band existed from the late sixties 'til the end of 1972. During its active career the group didn't release any material, although they definitelty had much potential. In 1983 their drummer (at last) released the cassette 'Weil Es So Schön Perlt'. This tape featured live recordings of good sound quality, dating from June 1971. Now here's a great CD-edition of that tape, enriched with two bonus tracks.. ...........
This is another rare krautrock mystery including recordings from a PANKO performance in 1971. Initially released on cassette tape in 1983 by drummer Richard Stey the songs are showing them in a relaxed mood here. Fortunately the audio quality is rather good. They are mixing up german and english lyrics respectively song titles quite naturally. Besides the standard rock music instrumentation we have also two members alternating on sax and flute plus a self-constructed tone/effect generator in use. This immediately suggests a sound which holds a little of each.
And indeed Eröffnung starts trippy jazzy with flute and saxophone all around - similar to Xhol Caravan I would say, but not so raw, more sophisticated. This sounds really skillful and well attuned. Provided with narration in English language Teppich appears undefinable weird at first and later evolves into a psychedelic outfit. I can't imagine the meaning of Muppelkas - only know that 'kas' is the Austrian translation for 'cheese' - never mind, I would label this song as jazzy zappaesque provided with suspense and different time signatures. They periodically hurry up and then on the other hand return to a relaxed behaviour once again - you even might think of a big sleep here and there assuming the song has already finished. Because soloing a lot flute and saxophone have a dominant role.

Baby Please Don't Go has more of a rock n' roll behaviour - please remember the 70s have just begun - but provided with some twists and turns and scary vocals it's enjoyable. Because of some applause appearing you will be aware of the fact that this is a live performance for the first time. Echoing flute contributions and German narrations telling the story of Kasbian are remarkable on Kasbians Abenteuer - a quite long jamming thing. This sounds improvised - suddenly some english lyrics appear and it looks like the instruments are getting out of control more and more swirling all around.

But they are finding together with safety at the end and then you are really surprised how time flies. As the song title implies Elektronisches offers playful electronic stuff coupled with spacey guitar contributions in the vein of the Kosmische Musik - very experimental - tribal drums and echoed vocals are added later - this is surely offering a new facet. Thanks to Garden Of Delights Records the album was re-issued in 2014. Two additional tracks are given, equipped with such enchanting titles like Porky Pig and Dadidadumm. 'Weil Es So Schön Perlt' features cool rough krautrock stuff with the emphasis on a jazz tinged Rivertree ................

- Helmut Sucker / guitar
- Peter Gentsch / bass, vocals
- Frank Graeber / flute, sax, vocals, sounds, effects
- Peter Pacek / percussion, flute, vocals
- Richard Stey / drums

1. Eröffnung (6:28)
2. Teppich [Hutzel Perpa] (5:16)
3. Porky Pig (4:20)
4. Baby Please Don't Go (4:35)
5. Kasbians Abenteuer (12:50)
6. Elektronisches (8:16)
7. Dadidadumm* (11:38)
8. Muppelkas* (11:47) 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..