body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

27 Feb 2017

Ypsilon “Metro Music Man” 1977 Greek Prog Symphonic

Ypsilon “Metro Music Man” 1977 Greek band released in France 
full log in first……….

The Greek trio Ypsilon (not to be confused with the German band Epsilon) was formed by former Aphrodite's Child drummer Loukas Sideras together with brothers Axis and Lakis Vlavianos. Musically they were quite different from other keyboard-based trios. Instead of complexity and breathtaking instrumental passages, they focused on tightly structured and song-oriented sophisticated pop/rock. Some songs on their first and only album "Metro Music Man" are fairly comparable to Procol Harum, especially "Morning Sunrise", "The President" and "Tender". But they also managed to develop a style more of their own on the more synth-dominated tracks, such as "Day of the Dove" and "Gambling Daddy". "Silver Swan" is a fully orchestrated song with a grandiose finale, and stands as the most symphonic moment on the album. The sweet and romantic "Corners of My Life" has a more typical Mediterranean feel to it, while the powerful "Ms. Lopez" and the almost danceable "Losing Sight" shows the trio from their most upbeat side. The title-track is a song about the hard life of a street-singer in Paris, and the mood and sound of the song fits perfectly to that. The impressively consistent and even songwriting together with good musicianship makes "Metro Music Man" a little gem of late '70s high quality pop/rock.........

Ypsilon - the Greek trio was formed in France, ex-drummer APHRODITE'S CHILD Lucas Sideras. The group includes: Dimiris Katakouzinos - bass, vocals; Lakis Vlavianos - keyboards, Loukas Sideras - drums. The Ypsilon musically very different from other music trio, with the basis for its construction leading role keyboards. Rather than issue a complex and exciting instrumental passages, team members focused on the performance of strictly structured and yet very complex songs focused on an unusually beautiful and melodic pop-rock. In general, it is quite soft and light progressive rock style rapolagalis somewhere between Barclay James Harvest, later Moody Blues and the Alan Parsons Project. The most interesting tracks is not the record, in my opinion, are the "Morning Sunrise", "The President" and "Tender".....................

ο Λουκάς Σιδεράς -ντραμς και τραγούδι - (εκ των καλύτερων Ελλήνων ντράμερ), ο οποίος μετά την διάλυση των Aphrodites Child to 1972 ακολούθησε μια σόλο καριέρα με σχετική επιτυχία, γράφοντας δυο δίσκους (περισσότερα για τον Σιδερά σε επόμενη ανάρτηση)
ο Δημήτρης Κατακουζηνός - μπάσο και φωνητικά- πρώην μέλος των Axis (που σχηματiστηκαν επίσης στο Παρίσι στις αρχές της δεκαετίας του 70), και ο
Λάκης Βλαβιανός - κίμπορντς πιάνο- πρώην μέλος της μπάντας του Ντέμη Ρούσου.

Το 1977 κυκλοφόρησε το πρώτο και τελευταίο τους άλμπουμ (από την Philips στην Γαλλία) με τίτλο Metro Music Man (Philips -9101 145). Την ίδια χρονιά η εταιρία κυκλοφόρησε και το single Morning Sunrise / Metro Music Man (Philips, Phonogram -6172 019). Το άλμπουμ αν και ενδιαφέρον μουσικά δεν έτυχε της προσοχής και της επιτυχίας που (ίσως) του άξιζε. Μετά την κυκλοφορία του το γκρουπ διαλύθηκε και τα μέλη του τράβηξαν διαφορετικούς δρόμους.

Το σχήμα διέφερε αρκετά από άλλα γκρουπ που είχαν επίσης κύριο στοιχείο τα keyboards. Πολλά κομμάτια Metro Music Man μπορούν και κατά καιρούς έχουν συγκριθεί με τις συνθέσεις των Procol Harum, με κυριότερα τα "Morning Sunrise", "The President" και "Tender". To "προσωπικό" στυλ του σχήματος είναι εμφανές στα κομμάτια "Day of the Dove" and "Gambling Daddy". Το "Silver Swan", με το ιδιαίτερο φινάλε, αποτελεί αδιαμφισβήτητα το πιο συμφωνικό μέρος του άλμπουμ.

Hints and Tips
Το κομμάτι του τίτλου αναφέρεται στην ζωή ενός μουσικού του δρόμου στο Παρίσι.
Ο Σιδεράς λίγο μετά την διάλυση του σχήματος επέστρεψε στην Ελλάδα όπου και έκανε παραγωγές σε δίσκους άλλων.
Ο Δημήτρης Κατακουζηνός και ο Λάκης Βλαβιανός υπήρξαν μέλη των θρυλικών We Five (όπως και ο Ντέμης Ρούσσος).
Κυκλοφόρησαν επίσης σε 7'' single στην Γαλία το Corners Of My Life (Philips 6172 070) και το Day Of The Dove (Philips ‎– 6042 330). ......................

The Greek trio Ypsilon was formed in France by ex- Aphrodite's Child drummer Loukas Sideras.
Loucas Sideras – Drums, Percussion, Vocals
Lakis Vlavianos – Piano, Electric Piano [Fender], Synthesizer [Moog], Keyboards
Dimitris Katakouzinos – Bass, Chorus

A1 Morning Sunrise 3:10
A2 Day Of The Dove
Guitar [Solo] – José Sour*
A3 Silver Swan 4:12
A4 Gambling Daddy 3:25
A5 Corners Of My Life 3:13
B1 The President 3:25
B2 Metro Music Man 3:25
B3 Ms Lopez 2:28
B4 Tender
Guitar [Solo] – José Sour*
B5 Losing Sight 3:00
B6 The End 1:10 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..