body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

3 Mar 2017

Big Foot “Big Foot” 1968 US Prog Jazz Rock

Big Foot “Big Foot” 1968 US Prog Jazz Rock
Essentially a very light weight horn/pop band, these guys try to sound a lot heavier than they are, often sending mixed signals. I am not a big fan of horns in my rock and roll, and except under unusual circumstances, their presence often spoils some otherwise decent rock for me. This album is not an exception - every time I feel as though I can start to get into a cut, the horns come blaring in to sour the mood. Too bad hi-fi’s didn’t include a button you could push, similar to the mono button, that you could use to remove the horns from the mix. Many of these tracks would be pretty decent without them. Grades - 5 B-’s, 3 C+’s, and 2 C’s. My sources indicate this album was from 1969….by…tymeshifter………..

Big Foot were formed in Los Angeles California in 1967 and consisted of Art Munson (guitar, vocals), Virgil Beckham (bass, vocals), Gerard Belisle (trumpet, trombone, vocals), Spencer Earnshaw (drums), David Garland (organ, trumpet, saxophone, vocals). 

Munson had previously been a back-up musician for the Righteous Brothers while the other members played in various groups in and around Orange County. One such group was the Soul Brothers which included Beckham and Belisle who while cruising the Sunset Strip, came up with the name Big Foot, after the ape-like creature that roamed the remote mountain areas of the Pacific Northwest. 

The band played the Los Angeles area which included gigs at the Whisky-A-Go-Go and the Pussy Cat-A-Go-Go in Vegas while entertaining recording contract offers. 
by Jack Dominilla………

Art Munson — guitar, vocals 
Virgil Beckham — bass, vocals 
Gerard Belisle — trumpet, trombone, vocals 
David Garland — organ, trumpet, saxophone, vocals 
Spencer Earnshaw — drums

01. I Keep Holding On — 3:26 
02. Colors — 3:57 
03. Sarah Lee — 3:30 
04. When Will It Hit Me — 3:37 
05. Living Again — 3:19 
06. Take Me — 2:26 
07. California Lights — 4:59 
08. Bring Another Day — 3:11 
09. Teen Thigh — 2:44 
10. Music Maker — 3:30 
11. Let It Flow — 3:21 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..