body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

8 Mar 2017

Euphoria "Euphoria" 1969 US Psych sunshine Pop

Euphoria  "Euphoria" 1969  US Psych sunshine Pop

This album's been sitting in my to-listen-to pile for about five years. Every time it floated to the top the goofy cover ensured it got shoved back down. Anyhow, lookin' for that record that encapsulates that magical '60s spirit ? Well, 1969's does pretty well in capturing the spirit, even if the magical aspect is missing.

Roger and Wendy Penney started their entertainment careers as actors, working with Boston's Theatre Company. Using the stage name Roger and Wendy Beckett, by the mid-'60s the pair had turned their attentions to music, becoming fixtures on New York's Greenwich Village folk club scene. By the time they released their 1967 debut collection, they'd followed the crowd into a more electrified folk-rock sound with Roger jammin' on electric autoharp, while Wendy had picked up electric bass.
1969 saw The Beckets join forces with another entertainment couple - singer Sharon Alexander and guitarist Tom Pacheco. Pacheo already had been a member of the New York-based Ragamuffins and had already recorded a solo folk album - 1965's "Turn Away from the Storm". As Euphoria, the quartet captured the attention of Jerry Ross who signed them to his newly formed, MGM-affiliated Heritage label. Produced by Ross, 1969's cleverly-titled "Euphoria" featured a collection of tunes largely written by Pacheo. Musically the album found the group working in a sunshine-pop/ folk-rock genre that could be charitably described as derivative. Material like '' and '' echoed the likes of The Mamas and The Papas, Spanky and Our Gang, and even The 5th Dimension. In fact, if not for their East Coast bohemian image, you would have been hard pressed to tell Euphoria from anyone else in the sunshine pop sweepstakes. The group did make occasional excursions outside of their comfort zone. The opener 'There Is Now' had a distinctive psych edge that made it one of the album standouts. In contrast, 'Sitting In a Rocking Chair' sounded like a bad Free Design tune. Unfortunately for the group, they were confronted with a couple of problems. 1.) Their material wasn't particularly original, or impressive. As mentioned, you could easily have mistaken them for lots of the competition, though their harmonies weren't nearly as smooth as some of those other groups. 2.) By the time the album was released, this kind of folk-rock already sounded hopelessly outdated - way more 1967 than 1969. 3.) Ross and Heritage Records had absolutely no idea what to do with these guys and as a result there was next to no promotion for the band, the album, or the singles....Bad Cat...........

Euphoria was a short-lived band from 1968 to 1969, consisting of Roger Penney, Wendy Penney, Tom Pacheco, and Sharon Alexander. Roger and Wendy were a folk duo performing in Greenwich Village, using the names Roger Becket and Wendy Becket. Euphoria is generally regarded as a sunshine pop group. Initially, Roger and Wendy were approached by Tom and Sharon to form a band with the express purpose of procuring a recording deal. Roger and Wendy were to front the band as lead vocalists in the Folk Rock group, with Roger Penney on electric autoharp and keyboard, Wendy on bass guitar, Tom on guitar, and Sharon on percussion. They signed with Jerry Ross's Heritage Records, which was affiliated with MGM as distributor and promoter, and recorded one album entitled "Euphoria". Arranged by Joe Renzettii it was released in 1969, but without promotional support................

- Sharon Alexander -- percussion
- Tom Pacheo -- guitar
- Roger Penney (aka Roger Becket) -- vocals, electric autoharp,
- Wendy Penney (aka Wendy Becket) -- vocals, bass

1 There Is Now 4:17
2 What A Day 2:10
3 Seldom Seen Slim 4:28
4 Sun And Shadow 2:19
5 Sitting In A Rockin' Chair 3:35
6 Ride The Magic Carpet 2:51
7 You Must Forget 3:36
8 Tucson 3:02
9 Calm Down 2:23
10 Sleep 2:25
11 Walkin' Thru' The City 2:00 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..