body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

22 Mar 2017

Maru & Mikael "Destination Nowhere" 1975 Finland Prog Folk,Folk Rock

Maru & Mikael  "Destination Nowhere" 1975 excellent Finland Prog Folk,Folk Rock...recommended...!

Blues guitarist Mikael Viik worked with singer Carita Holmstrem, who, among other things, once represented Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest with Eero Koivistoinen's song Keep Me Warm. And Maru was a girlfriend of Carita, with whom they composed folk songs from the age of 12. The story had a romantic ending: Maru fell in love with Michael and they decided to record in the Finnlevy studio an album of electric folk rock, or if you want, folk progressives. 
Wiik, who worked as a purchasing manager for EMI, who had extensive contacts in the music world, invited excellent musicians such as saxophonist and flutist Pekka Pöyryu, percussionist Ronnie Österberg and bassist Lefa Kiviharju. 
Maru and Mikael both sang, played on guitars and keys. And although the work feels a strong American songgrass tradition, and although the album can be called a little commercially oriented, it is full of beautiful melodic compositions, such as Too Fast Too Last, Portrait of the Sorrow, Pan, Sakura, showing novelty and freshness. It is quite obvious that the musicians do not take fantasy and mastery: the breathtaking fragments with the participation of the flute of Puryu, the atmospheric vocal harmonies of Maru and Mikael - it turned out a bizarre mix of folk, blues, early symphonic progressives and a bit of jazz. The album was well received by both the public and critics...............

Maru is Marianne Nyman (born 1954, thus a very youthful 21 on this LP); notice she is credited with backup vocals on the 1977 Kalevala album I posted long ago. Her subsequent output looks like it's all over the map with disco, schlager, and country-rock. Mikael is Mikael Wiik and he shows up next in Heikki Sarmanto's wonderful Open Ear album I posted once too. Despite the post-history of these two, nothing can prepare you for the magic of this album if you haven't heard it before. A kind of electric folk, like classic Jefferson Airplane, plays under some utterly gorgeous three-part harmonies on the part of Maru. Consider the track about a hooker/stripper called Too Fast to Last with its really ingenious chord changes, and three-quarters rhythm evoking a too-rapid  Julian Ryan............. 
Bass – Leif Kiviharju 
Composed By – Marianne Nyman (tracks: A1 to B3) 
Drums, Percussion – Ronnie Österberg 
Guitar, Keyboards, Recorder, Bass, Vocals – Marianne Nyman, Mikael Wiik 
Producer – Mikael Wiik 
Recorded By – Jukka Teittinen, Kari Tamminen 
Recorded By, Mixed By – Antti Joki Soprano 
Saxophone, Flute – Pekka Pöyry 
Written-By – Mikael Wiik (tracks: A1 to B3), Traditional (tracks: B4) 

A1 Highway Hero 5:07 
A2 Riff 1 1:13 
A3 Hold Your Banners High 6:36 
A4 Pan 4:08 
A5 Riff 2 1:11 
A6 Too Fast To Last 5:48 
B1 Portrait Of Sorrow
B2 Low And Lazy
B3 Riff 1+2 1:17 
B4 Sakura 8:51 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..