body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

11 Apr 2017

Ragnarök "Fata Morgana" 1981 Sweden Prog Jazz Rock Fusion

Ragnarök  "Fata Morgana" 1981 Sweden Prog Jazz Rock Fusion

Fata Morgana from 1981 is their third album and to me is better then previous one in any aspect. Little more jazzier and with more intresting moments, Fata morgana in places have some experimental art rock parts almost gone towards avant prog to my ears. Not bad , specially the 4 pieces of the A side are pretty intresing. Not very much to add, just that Ragnarok didn’t manage to capture the auditorium as they wanted, releasing some more albums later but gone almost unnoticed. Fata morgana stands a as good album for sure, but aswell like previous album, no groundbreaking moments here. 3 stars maybe 3.5 for some arrangements… b olariu ……….

The tastes of the leader of the ensemble of Peter Brungelsson can only be guessed. But he thinks, judging by everything, very widely and very non-standard. Otherwise, Ragnarök would not have become the music and ideological ground that they were from the late 1970s. “Fata Morgana” is an extremely strange instrumental hybrid, the fruit of an ornate experiment of Scandinavian rock-Michurinians. Reminiscences with the debut record slip in a short fragment of the two-part composition “Leningrad”. Acoustic guitar, flute, weightless keyboards … A gentle pastoral, not having time to turn around, disappears behind a screen of anxious-restless psychedelia. In general, the material recorded on the album is characterized by a strong roll toward fusion. Buzuki, ethnic percussion, the brass section on the background of almost metallic hard rock … Is it really the same Swedes that once fed the hearts of music lovers with a well-tempered art folk? Everything has changed. Instead of cozy sad tales, noise and fury, which are next to the major numbers in the jazz-rock arrangement, then with etudes cloudy-windy, like the damp autumn twilight. Undoubtedly, it is progressive. Born in the era of universal dances. By the way, disco-rhythms are present here (“Jatora Em bak”) multiplied by abundant brass accompaniment, booming pulsating bass and fancifully riffing guitar. The final lyrical digression of “Eskapage”, after a series of militantly dark exercises, is perceived as a kind of ode to joy. The release is curious in many respects. But still I’m sorry. It is a pity that the mood of 1976 has evaporated irrevocably, and subtle magic has dissolved in non-existence. Okay, that is, that is. Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the performance called Ragnarök………..

Bass, Xylophone, Glockenspiel, Kalimba [Trumpiano] – Per F. Andersson
Drums, Xylophone, Cabasa – Thomas Wiegert
Guest, Congas, Flute [Rörflöjter], Maracas, Cabasa, Photography By, Layout, Cover – Peder Nabo
Guitar, Keyboards, Xylophone, Bouzouki, Drums [Afrotrumma], Glockenspiel – Peter Bryngelsson
Mastered By – PD*
Saxophone, Flute, Keyboards, Tambourine, Cover – Kjell Karlgren
Technician – Anders Lind
Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Keyboards – Magnus Jarlbo

Songs / Tracks Listing
1. Midvinterblot I
2. Fata Morgana
3. Jatora em Bak
4. Vild av Friden
5. Leningrad I & II
6. Midvinterblot II
7. Elefanten pa Taget
8. Eskapage 

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..