body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

9 Apr 2017

The Jazz Clan “Dedication” 1973 South Africa Afro Jazz

The Jazz Clan “Dedication” 1973 mega rare  South Africa  Afro Jazz

Another South African jazz rarity eventually makes an appearance. This is one of those albums where, in my searching I had found the cover, but could not find the vinyl or the music. So thank you Vusi for coming through with the audio!
Producer Mothobi Mutloatse’s liner notes tell us that Gordon Micky Mfandu was the original leader of “The Clan”, founded as a sixteen-piece band by trombonist Reuben Boy Radise in 1970. This 1973 recording was made following the untimely murder of Mfandu outside his home in Pimville, Soweto. The last track written by Peter Segona and Dimpi Tshabalala is dedicated to Mfandu. Mfandu was also the drummer for the Soul Giants’ “I Remember Nick”, recorded in 1968. Segona (trumpet) and Tshabalala (piano) are responsible for penning five of the six tracks featured on this album.
From the liner notes: “According to the band, their music is no carbon copy of somebody’s. ‘We’re trying to be ourselves as much as possible’, they explained hurriedly as they did not want to be categorised as ‘just another township jazz band’ trying to emulate the Americans.
Here I must point out that it is the Americans who have to learn from us about African rhythms. I mean there are so many Black American groups nowadays which are claiming to be playing Afro-jazz. To my mind, the Clan can teach them a thing or two! That’s African pride for you”.

Acoustic Bass – Mongezi Velelo
Baritone Saxophone – Corney Kumalo*
Drums – David Ramogasi, Gordon Micky Mfandu*, Jeff Mpete
Electric Piano – Dimpi Tshabalala*
Engineer – Peter Ceronio, Peter Thwaites
Leader, Trombone – Reuben Boy Radise*
Photography By [Back Cover] – V. Ntuli*
Photography By [Cover] – Mike Mzileni
Producer – Mothobi Mutloatse
Tenor Saxophone – Sipho Mabaso*
Trumpet – Peter Segona*

A1 Oh Happy Day
Written-By – E. Hawkins*
A2 You And Me Together
Written-By – P. Segona*
A3 Ngqomfi
Written-By – D. Tshabalala*
B1 Philia
Written-By – P. Segona*
B2 Rabothata
Written-By – P. Segona*
B3 Micky
Written-By – D. Tshabalala*, P. Segona*

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..