body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

27 May 2017

Zé Ramalho “ Zé Ramalho” 1978 Brazil Psych Folk Rock ,MPB

Zé Ramalho “ Zé Ramalho” 1978  Brazil Psych Folk Rock ,MPB…highly recommended..!

First album by Zé Ramalho from Paraíba, released in 1978. The album features keyboardist Patrick Moraz from the English band Yes, on the track "Avôhai".
Also of Ivinho in the viola in Avohai and Sergio Dias in the psychedelic guitar of the dance of the butterflies.........................

Brejo do Cruz, Paraibano, musician, composer and instrumentalist, better known as Zé Ramalho, almost four decades ago, released his first album.
An album that entered the history of national music consolidated a very solid and very successful career. Bringing all the mysticism of his thinking head, combined with the purest northeastern roots and his unmistakable voice, Zé Ramalho released one of the best MPB albums.

A well-crafted album, with clever lyrics, well-composed and innovative arrangements for the time. Tracks such as Avohai, Vila do Sossego, Chão de Giz, Dance of the Butterflies are present in all collections and shows throughout his career.
Avohai means Grandfather and Father. He makes an analogy to his grandfather who replaced the role of Zé's father, both being Grandfather and Father. But the word Avohai came to Ze after an experiment with hallucinogenic mushrooms on the farm. some friends. He looked up at the sky and saw the "shadow of a gigantic spaceship," and a voice said "Grandpa" in his ear.

Another curiosity of this track is the participation of the tecladista Patrick Moraz, of the English band Yes in the track "Avôhai"...................

This is my first record. The debut album. It came full of mysticism and ideas. I brought a different language than usual. Through the message of "Avôhai", music that opens the disc, with the participation of Patrick Moraz, keyboardist of the English group YES! In addition to "Avôhai", brings "Vila do Sossego" and "Chão de Giz", songs that became classics of M.P.B. With several re-recordings of other artists. It is the album of arrival, transposing the threshold of musical reach. It's a record that never went out of print. I'm proud of him and his time. It was the beginning of everything. It all starts with "Avôhai".

Born in Brejo do Cruz (PB) on 10/03/49, José Ramalho Neto spent his childhood with his grandfather in Campina Grande and discovered rock'n'roll and iê-lê-iê living adolescence in João Pessoa, listening Both the Young Guard and the Beatles and their contemporaries. In the turn of the 70's, Zé Ramalho was a member of the group The Gentlemen, who recorded an album by Rozenblit, the same record company from Pernambuco where the legendary double album "Paêbirú" was recorded, in partnership with Lula Côrtes at the end of 1974, with Alceu Valença, Ze da Flauta and others.

Zé Ramalho da Paraíba, as he arrived in Rio in many comings and goings, accompanied Alceu Valença and drew attention. He decided to establish himself definitively in the city after the carnival of 1976, prepared never to return to the Northeast. At that time, he had already composed Avôhai, Vila do Sossego, Chão de Giz and Dança das Borboletas, and after meeting with producer Carlos Alberto Sion on the pier of Ipanema, he entered the Phonogram studio to record a demo. It was not accepted, but he spent the year visiting RCA, EMI-Odeon and Som Livre, who were not interested either. The TV director Augusto César Vanucci became a fan and showed Avôhai to the then wife Vanusa, who decided to record the song in São Paulo, with Zé to the guitar.

Already close to that year of 1976, Raimundo Fagner gave his endorsement to the CBS board of directors - calling attention to the work of his friend, which made the artistic director Jairo Pires like to hear Avôhai. Immediately hired in early 1977, Zé Ramalho breathed a sigh of relief and spent the year doing gigs in Rio. A version of Avôhai was even recorded in a radio studio, so that he would immediately enter the program. This first solo album by Zé Ramalho was recorded on 8 channels at the CBS studio in November 1977.

All the musicians played for free, animated by the opportunity reached by the singer and composer from Paraguay, including the English keyboardist Patrick Moraz, who was recording a solo album in Rio de Janeiro.

The bases were recorded with few musicians, Zé even, only used percussion and not drums in this semi-acoustic work of incredible sound quality. Also in the electrified part, former Mutantes Sérgio Dias sensitized so much by his participation that he won three of the eight channels for his apotheotic guitar solo in The Dance of the Butterflies. No one realized at the time that the tape was coming to an end, which is why this track closes the first side of the record that way.

As the artist continued to live in a room rented in Glória, CBS decided to host him at the Hotel Plaza de Copacabana to do the job of disclosure with more comfort. The record had great repercussion and the artist took the opportunity to distribute his booklet of string Apocalypse at the entrance of his shows. Zé Ramalho felt that the "thing was beginning to happen" in the middle of 1978, when he received the first money from the public execution of his Fróes.............

1 - Avôhai
2 - Vila do Sossego
3 - Chão de Giz
4 - A Noite Preta
5 - A Dança das Borboletas
6 - Bicho de 7 Cabeças
7 - Adeus Segunda-Feira Cinzenta
8 - Meninas de Albarã
9 - Voa, Voa

Zé Ramalho on the tour of his first album.Geraldo Azevedo, Elba Ramalho, Valdemar Falcão, Lizzie Bravo, Cátia de França e Bezerra da Silva

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..





Cassete Deck

Cassete Deck