body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

14 Jun 2017

Erik “Look Where I Am” 1968 US Hippie Psych Acid Folk

Erik “Look Where I Am” 1968 US Hippie Psych Acid  Folk
A masterpiece
Unlike many, I think this is an absolute masterpiece. Even in the Acid Archives, it is underrated, where the songwriting is turned down. I can't hear that. I think this is hard to compare to any other record. Of course, it is folky soft psych, but the atmosphere is quite unique. The only comparison I can come up with are the moody tracks on Nick Garrie's 'Nightmare of J.B. Stanislas', but Erik is much more consistent. Everyone with an interest in softer psych must hear this! ..........

Every now and then, an album pops up that makes you wonder what could’ve happened back then, when it was originally released, to make it almost unnoticeable. One of those albums certainly must be the one by an American guy named Erik, released on Vanguard in 1968.

There’s a funny supposition that the label might’ve gave up on him, because he was the one too many, among Erik(c)s on the label (Erik Darling, formerly of The Weavers and Eric Anderson), though I’m not really sure neither of them had an album so incredibly kaleidoscopic like this one.

It’s pretty hard to “look where he really is” because he keeps jumping back-and-forth from Love-ly “forever changing” arrangements (title track, Lights Across The Field …) through Donovan/Drake influenced folky-psych moods (Painted On The Wall, Dead Afternoon Song), all put through jazzy Zombies-like sophistication, to baroque pop styling (Georgeann) and even some fuzzy garage psych (You Said/But I’ve Got My Way).

Funnily enough, it seems as if he had known what his destiny was, so maybe that’s what he was trying to say with the album title. Hopefully, now everyone will know at least where the album is, if not where Erik himself is … anyone?......

Επιτέλους, επανακυκλοφόρησε από την radioactive records ένα χαμένο εξαίσιο άλμπουμ από τα χρόνια της flower power! Ο καλλιτέχνης λεγόταν Erik Heller ή σκέτο Erik και υπήρξε κλασική περίπτωση hippie τραγουδοποιού, ο οποίος κατάφερε να βγάλει μόνο αυτό το δίσκο με τραγούδια του και μετά εξαφανίστηκε κυριολεκτικά. Ως Βρετανό, ο τότε Τύπος τον είχε ταυτίσει με τον Donovan, αν και μια πιο προσεχτική ακρόαση φανερώνει ό,τι περισσότερο είχε επηρεαστεί από τους Love και το θρυλικό LP Forever changes του 1967! Το άλμπουμ του Erik με το χαρακτηριστικό πανέμορφο εξώφυλλο εκδόθηκε την επόμενη χρονιά από την αμερικανική Vanguard, την εταιρεία που από τις αρχές της δεκαετίας του ΄60 έβγαζε τους δίσκους της Joan Baez, όπως και διαφόρων άλλων folk, blues και rock καλλιτεχνών (από τον John Hammond και τους Country Joe & The Fish μέχρι τον Larry Coryell και τη Φλέρυ Νταντωνάκη)! Έντεκα τραγούδια ψυχεδελικής pop με έντονη χρήση βιμπράφωνου, φλάουτου και τρομπέτας σε μιαν εκλεπτυσμένη ενορχήστρωση που ακούγεται πολύ φρέσκια ακόμη και σήμερα, ακριβώς σαράντα χρόνια μετά! Ένα κομμάτι υπάρχει μόνο, στο οποίο ο ήχος ροκάρει υπερβολικά, φλερτάροντας ανοιχτά με το garage πνεύμα των 60s. Σε όλα τα άλλα τραγούδια, ρυθμικές μπαλάντες κυρίως, πρωτεύοντα ρόλο παίζουν η ερμηνεία του Erik με τα αιθέρια φωνητικά του, οι στίχοι του, που παραδόξως αποστασιοποιούνται από την αλλόκοτη ψυχεδελική θεματική του καιρού τους, καθώς και η ανάδειξη του peace & love κλίματος που επικρατούσε! Έψαχνα για πολλά χρόνια το Look where I am, μέχρι που το ξετρύπωσα από κεντρικό αθηναϊκό δισκοπωλείο με οκτώ μόνο ευρώ! Δυστυχώς στην επανακυκλοφορία σε cd, δεν προσφέρονται στοιχεία για τους μουσικούς που συμμετείχαν στην ηχογράφηση, ούτε οι στίχοι και το σημείωμα του ίδιου του καλλιτέχνη που κοσμούσαν την πρωτότυπη έκδοση του βινυλίου...............

Erik Heller - Guitars, Vocals

Track Listing :

01. Look Where I Am (Well It's Right Over Here)
02. Painted on the Wall
03. Dead Afternoon Song
04. Be Off Man
05. Why Come Another Day
06. You Said/But I've Got My Way
07. Lights Across the Field/Bright Lights Across the Field Too
08. Sweet Eyes Of
09. Georgann
10. Untitled Number 2
11. Triumphant Breaking Bottle

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..