body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

10 Jun 2017

Mike Tingley “The Abstract Prince” 1968 US Psych Folk Pop

Mike Tingley “The Abstract Prince” 1968 US Psych Folk Pop

It's a true hidden treasure, a real gem of early pop psych folk, with nice vocals, well-crafted songs, interesting orchestral and baroque arrangements and so cool 60's vibes. It's the sole LP of this Californian artist, released in Holland in 1968. It has an impressive opening with the totally Barrett-with-strings "A Real Fine Time". A rather rich production - the basic rock instruments with something like a strings ensemble - often creating an amazing wall-of-sound, contrasting with the unusual melodic lines that Tingley uses in several tracks. This is rather different from the use of strings in other psychedelic records, like in "Forever Changes" and closer to Phil Spector's way. Sometimes flutes, layered vocals, tablas and acoustic guitars are used to give the desired psychedelic (or folky in a few cases) sound. Very very English. Would be a nice piece of English psychedelia if he wasn't American...

I wouldn't know if the producer, Tony Vos (also jazz saxophonist and DJ in famous Radio Veronica) or Mike Tingley himself had studied the Beatles' arrangements in Rubber Soul or Sgt.Pepper that was released a little earlier, but this album is standing between the psychedelic era of the Byrds, Syd Barrett and Sgt. Pepper. True masterpiece !!! This brilliant record remains undiscovered until today, never reissued.......................

Well, 40 years latter it appears that a few people are still listening to my Lp.
Hey, thanks! Pretty quaint stuff hey? What can I was the sixties.
I remained a professional musician for about 10 years and I still compose and record (with my son).
I have been a winemaker in California for the past 28 years. It's a good life!
Anyway, thanks for listening. .....Mike Tingley......................

Have been searchin' for this LP half of my life, but found it finally in a dealers list. Must say it was worth the waitin' & searchin' effort. Great record: very baroque sound & acidfolky vocals. The catalogue nr. is two numbers earlier than the Nacht & Ontij LP from Boudewijn de Groot; this is also a great record. The similarity between the two records is that on both LP's the Bert Paige Orkestra did accompanying work. Maybe both LP's were recorded at the same time? Perhaps Mike himself (hi,below!) can answer this ...........

Review by Mr. Mike Tingley : 
I have been asked to write a few lines for this LP. But where do I start? I think I am just now realising what has taken place. I will start by thanking to everyone who was involved in the making of this record. And there are so many that added so much to it. My producer, Tony Vos, whose guidance and supervision I couldn't have done without. My recording technician, Gerard Beckers, whose skill in a control room was consistently outstanding. The drummer, Cees Kranenburg and the bass player, Jan Hollesteller, who both demonstrated the only thing that only a good musician can...talent and plenty of it. And speaking of musicians, I really owe a special debt gratitude to Bert Paige, who did all the orchestra arrangements and to all the studio musicians participated in this LP. There is only one word to describe their contribution to this music...beautiful. There are so many other people directly or indirectly involved, that I could never write them at down on this jacket. But my heart felt thanks go out to each one of them just the same. I was also asked to explain each of my songs. I thought a lot about it and decided that it wasn't fair, in a way, to you the listener. Although, when I wrote each song I had a definite idea in my mind, these were only my impressions. I feel that if I were to explain each song to you, it wouldn't give you an honest chance to develop your own impressions. And this is what I think is one of the most important parts of any music: the capacity to be interpreted differently, depending on who the listener is. I would like to end by thanking you, the listener, for giving me this opportunity to express the many emotions and thoughts that are contained in each and every groove of this LP..............

A1 A Real Fine Time 2:47
A2 Begin The Sun 2:50
A3 Connected To Nothing 1:41
A4 Emotions And May 2:55
A5 Monotony's Message 3:28
A6 See The People 2:12
B1 Abstract Prince 2:56
B2 Of Sand 1:25
B3 Of Soul And Deep 2:55
B4 I Weep 3:14
B5 It's Time To Leave Her 2:46
B6 Crossroads 1:56

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..