body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

30 Jun 2017

Splash "Ut På Vischan" 1972 Sweden Prog Jazz Rock

Splash "Ut På Vischan"  1972 Sweden Prog Jazz Rock


Progressive/Jazz-Rock act coming from the city of S'derhamn in Central Sweden.Splash were formed in 1969 as an eight-piece group - some of the members played in the Pop band Why [SWE] in the 60's - however suffering from some line-up changes during their early years.In 1972 the band released the debut ''Ut P' Vischen'' on Polydor.By the time they had two sax players Christer Holm and H'kan Lewin and two trumpet/horn players, Leif Halld'n and Lennart L'fgren.The line-up included also drummer Jan Erik Westin, bassist/singer Kaj S'derstr'm, guitarist/singer Christer Jansson and keyboardist G'sta Rundqvist.
Splash were greatly influenced by bands lile CHICAGO and BLOOD,SWEAT AND TEARS,so their sound was much driven by the band's horn section, including refined sax attacks, melodic horns and bluesy trumpet parts, especially in the instrumental parts.The keyboard work of Rundqvist still played a major role though, filling the tracks with organ preludes and calm jazzy piano passages.Unlike many Jazz/Blues-based Progressive bands, Splash focused on producing some lovely and melodic tunes,moving far from the Jazz improvised structures, creating thus memorable and delicate song-based material.Vocals are all in Swedish with an excellent color and become real highligh throughout the listening.The style overall is quite rich, polished and elegant.

Good early-70's Jazz/Blues-Rock with nice balance and melodic arrangements, far from being too complicated.A bit dated for today's standards but definitely well-played and apps79 .................

A1 Jag Minns Min Gröna Dal 5:19
A2 Jag Drömmer Om En Annan Värld 6:16
A3 Stormen 4:34
A4 Ut På Vischan 3:58
B1 Frihet 3:01
B2 Spelmannen Och Forskarlen 6:51
B3 Vår Dröm 3:47
B4 Smutsig Jord 4:59

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..