body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

26 Jun 2017

Sputnik "Parallax, Vol. I" 2016 Canada Prog Jazz Rock Fusion

Sputnik  "Parallax, Vol. I"  2016 Canada Prog Jazz Rock Fusion


face book
Music of outer space featuring instruments of Planet Earth. Sputnik was formed in 2009 in Winnipeg, Canada, with objective of playing fusion and rock instrumental covers. The group's first album, Space Junk (2012), featured their take on jazz and funk classics by Herbie Hancock, Billy Cobham, Jeff Beck, Parliament-Funkadelic and others. After a few lineup changes, Sputnik settled into writing the original material that can be found on their new release Parallax Vol. I (2016). Whether they're bringing the Sputnik Space Show (complete with a cosmic video backdrop) to a big stage, or keeping it low-key in a cozy corner of the local bistro, Sputnik is a band that simply must be seen live. The group is currently working on Parallax Vol. II, which is set to be released in late 2016 / early 2017. Sputnik is: Barry G. Player (guitar), Tristan Rivers (guitar), Leigh Fischer (bass), and Doug Northcott (drums)...........

Sputnik is a fusion jazz project which brings the talents of Leigh Fischer (Bass), Doug Northcott (Drums), Barry G. Player (Guitar), and Tristan Rivers (Guitar) together to create sounds that, though often out of this world, are always highly inventive and very fun to listen to.

Upon the release of its debut album "Space Junk" in 2012 Sputnik would find a strong voice that borrows from the Jazz world but is rooted heavily in funk and fusion. The band takes songs such as Billy Cobham's Red Barron, or Herbie Hancock's Watermelon man and plays them with passion and intensity while remaining honest and paying homage to the originals. On the flip side they can also take tunes like Stratus, and The Theme from fletch and send them spinning into sonic cascades that will leaving you reeling for more.

The band is also focused on creating a repertoire of original pieces that really showcase the talent level of these Winnipeg artists. While creating music that creates a very pleasing aura for the audience is key, they clearly also strive to push themselves as players. As amazing to watch in a small club or bistro as on a large stage, Sputnik puts on a show that simply must be seen!

Sputnik's new album, Parallax Vol. I, is comprised of all original material and set to be released Jan 09, 2016.........

Barry G. Player - guitar
Tristan Rivers - guitar
Leigh Fischer - bass
Doug Northcott - drums  

1. Atomic Biscuit 07:42
2. Milky Way 04:17
3. Flat Earth 00:54
4. Rooftop Garden 04:53
5. Extra Terrestrial Technology 08:02
6. Dark Matter 01:28
7. Critical Mass 08:11
8. Mars Atlas 08:05

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..