body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

30 Jul 2017

Arktis "More Arktis Tapes" 1975 Germany Kraut Rock Prog

Arktis  "More  Arktis Tapes" 1975 Germany Kraut Rock Prog


Following their first record, Arktis, who had worked together with the well-known German producer Conny Plank for a time, recorded several hours of tape in 1975. Some of the tracks from these tapes were used for the second LP 'Arktis tapes', which was released in the same year in a small edition and re-released in 1994 on CD with two additional tracks. Since the remaining tracks were by no means waste but pretty good, too good to be forgotten about, another CD was compiled with the best of them, chosen and digitally dehissed by mastermind Klaus Blachut himself in his studio. So Garden of Delights is now offering a comprehensive survey of the band's history and music with 'Arktis' (1974 - CD 005), 'Arktis tapes' (1975 - CD 012), 'On the rocks' (1976 - CD 022) and the above-mentioned 'More Arktis tapes' (CD 039). .........

 After three failed attemps at getting signed to a label by releasing their own albums privately, ARKTIS called it quits.This particular release is a compilation of unreleased tracks, live tracks and a couple of long improvs. At 74 minutes this certainly has it's hits and misses but overall this is my favourite release from the band. I had mentioned earlier that I was surprised at how good the bonus tracks were on their first three albums and wondered why they weren't on the albums because some of these songs were not only amazing but better than the ones they used. Well here's more evidence that this band was very talented and maybe didn't always release the songs maybe they should have.
"Picture" is a favourite of mine with the melancholic guitar that is restrained. Vocals after 2 minutes are reserved. A little more energy but not much more before 4 minutes then back to that earlier mellow vibe wih vocals. "Rare Girl (Slight Return)" rocks out pretty hard then "Stepping Ahead" comes in with it's slow but raw style. It does pick up 1 1/2 minutes in and even more after 3 minutes.They are jamming folks.The guitar is lighting it up 8 minutes in.

"Guitar Emotion" sounds great with the guitar, bass and drums leading the way. It picks up 6 1/2 minutes in then settles as a bass solo takes over before 8 minutes.The drums and guitar then return. "Organ Growler" is catchy with organ coming in over top. Guitar before 3 minutes then the tempo picks up. "Highlands" has this laid back guitar and sound. I like it. It builds then settles back before 5 minutes.

"Rollin' And Grumblin" has these raw guitar leads that are fantastic. "Proud And Loud" has lots of ripping guitar in it. "Arktis Boogie" is just that.

"Space Walk" is much better. Killer tune. "Let The Music Play" isn't the best. A weak vocal track really. "New Rock (Live)" opens with the band or the song being introduced in German. Sounds like it belongs on the debut album. I like it.

Lots to like here but it is hit and miss with more of the former...... by Mellotron Storm .............

Line-up / Musicians
- Klaus Blachut / guitar
- Karin Töppig / voice
- Klaus Göllner / bass
- Harry Kottek / drums

Songs / Tracks Listing
1. Picture (7:52)
2. Rare Girl (Slight Return) (2:20)
3. Stepping Ahead (14:06)
4. Guitar Emotion (14:39)
5. Organ Growler (5:56)
6. Highlands (7:07)
7. Rollin' and Grumblin' (3:16)
8. Proud and Loud (3:05)
9. Arktis Boogie (3:21)
10. Space Walk (3:54)
11. Let the Music Play (2:30)
12. New Rock (Live) (5:23)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..





Cassete Deck

Cassete Deck