body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

1 Jul 2017

Blown Free"Maximum Rock Classic" 1978 US Hard Rock

Blown Free"Maximum Rock Classic"  1978 US  Hard Rock


Blown Free were a Houston band active between 1978 and 1982. Their history is almost completely unknown, what is known is that the band's leader and main songwriter, David Matthews, has a long history in music. He got his start in Wisconsin, playing in some underground psyche bands as early as 1968.

When he moved to Houston he immediately put together his own band and the results of this can be heard on this disc, what recordings survived anyway. If there ever was a band that could be classified as "obscure, underground rock" this is surely one. The only known release on this band is a sole 45 released on Excelsior (the label owned by the late Bill Holford, SR. of ACA Studios in Houston).

Mr. Holford would sometimes take a band under his wing and help them through business deals and publishing deals, which is what he did with Blown Free. After the dissolution of the band, and the break-up of Matthews' marriage, David took off for greener pastures back in Wisconsin where he started his own label and put together another version of Blown Free, this time under the monniker of The Matthew Davis Project. Several tracks from that period are included here as "Lemonade and Suzie Tonight", "A Seedy Reefer", and "The Bash"..............

BLOWN FREE (1978) Maximum Rock And Roll The album of a little-known Texas band, though falling out of the usual period of the records under consideration, is made exclusively in the hard rock style of the early 70's, and, in the best traditions - tough, aggressive, energetic. Some songs resemble Bang (the opening album Baby Come Back or The Wizard, the second one also has certain prog features), My House is very good, based on a ripped blues rhythm in the spirit of Rory Gallagher (in Sweet Love there is also something similar to Him). The Ballad Come Back My Way causes associations with similar things GFR, and the Rock And Roll Band in the chorus reminds us again of GFR's We're Just .... The Heavy Blues I Feel Free is good, the Blown Free song itself is made in the Sabbath style (But it's still played in its own way) - the same tough, sticky riffs that are replaced by suddenly high-speed solos, Lemonade & Suzie Tonight is also good. Not all are equally qualitatively recorded, but still the album is interesting......................

1. Baby Come Back - 2:14
2. My House - 2:57
3. Sweet Love - 3:52
4. The Wizard - 3:56
5. Come Back My Way - 4:58
6. Rock And Roll Band - 2:48
7. A Little Bit At A Time - 3:59
8. My House - 3:11
9. I Feel Free - 3:54
10. Blown Free - 5:47
11. Sweet Love - 4:14
12. Lemonade & Suzie Tonight - 5:30
13. A Seedy Reefer - 3:55
14. The Bash - 4:46
15. The Wizard - 3:18

Tracks 1-4 recorded at ACA Studios in Houston, TX. Track 4 is a different mix than the released version on the 45 (Track 15).
Tracks 5-11 are taken from a rehearsal tape recorded sometime in 1978.
Tracks 12-14 are recordings made by The Matthew Davis Project.
Track 15 taken from the band's only official release, the Excelsior Records 45 recorded at ACA Studios and engineered by Bill Holford, SR.

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..