body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

13 Jul 2017

Home "Live BBC Sessions 1972-1973" UK Hard Prog

Home "Live BBC Sessions 1972-1973" UK Hard Prog


"Our second release on MLP-the label which specialises in rare LIVE recordings from the 1970`s. This time the band HOME who featured the twin guitarists Laurie Wisefield and Mick Stubbs. Laurie Wisefield who later joined Wishbone Ash in June 1974 as replacement for Ted Turner just after these recordings is in fine form here and contributes the sleeve notes with an insight into all the tracks. On bass is Cliff Williams who is now an important member of AC/DC. His thundering bass lines along with drummer Mick Cook power the band through tracks from all three CBS Home albums including a complete Live run-through their brilliant third concept album-The Alchemist. The sessions come from both John Peel and Bob Harris Sound of the 70`s shows plus two In Concert programmes between 1972-73. These fine recordings from the BBC archives are the first and ONLY Live material available by HOME and show the band in their true form-jamming and soloing as every track gets the extended guitar work-out treatment. If you like 70`s rock with good vocal harmonies, a driving rhythm section and twin-guitar riffing & soloing-then this is the album for you. Hope you like it."........

This is a good live testament to a little known band.Two of the members went on to other well known bands Laurie Wisefield to Wishbone Ash and Cliff Williams to rock superstardom with AC/DC.
There is some excellant guiter playing to be heard on this album the first four tracks in particular are extended versions of studio recordings,my favourite My Lady Of The Birds hears Cliff really coaxing some strange sounds out of his bass with a violin bow.Tracks 6-17 is their album the Alchemist played from start to finish with some extended soloing.
For the cd excellent guitar playing and considering its age good quality recording.
Against it could be a bit "seventies"for some and the biggest problem is price,it is long deleted from the record company catalogue so is expensive,I paid just under £50 for it,as soon as I had done that the cheapest copy available became £75 with some collectables being over £100....By Craig Savage ...............

Mick Stubbs (vocals, guitar, piano)
Laurie Wisefield (acoustic guitar, steel guitar, vocals)
Cliff Williams (bass, vocals)
Mick Cook (drums, percussion)
Clive John (keyboards)

01 - How Would It Feel - 6:27
02 - Red E. Lewis & Red Caps - 7:40
03 - Dreamer - 5:13
04 - My Lady of the Birds - 8:30
05 - In My Time - 8:33
06 - Schooldays - 3:03
07 - The Old Man Dying - 3:26
08 - Time Passes By - 1:37
09 - The Old Man Calling - 3:06
10 - The Disaster - 2:41
11 - The Sun's Revenge - 6:01
12 - A Secret to Keep - 1:15
13 - The Brass Band Played - 0:26
14 - Rejoicing - 2:40
15 - The Disaster Returns - 8:07
16 - Death of the Alchemist - 4:36
17 - The Alchemist - 3:41

1971: Pause for a Hoarse Horse (CBS64365)
1972: Home (CBS 64752) - UK #41
1973: The Alchemist (CBS 65550)
2000: Home Live BBC Sessions 1972-1973 (Major League Productions, MLP02CD)

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..