body{ text-shadow: 0px 0px 4px rgba(150, 150, 150, 1); }

9 Aug 2017

Robert Wood "Vibrarock" 1976 France Prog Jazz Rock

Robert Wood "Vibrarock" 1976 France Prog Jazz Rock


In 1971-72, English vibraphonist Robert Wood was a member of French band Lard Free, the band Gilbert Artman led before Urban Sax. Wood later asked Artman to play drums on his own second LP, ‘Sonanbular’, while Artman included vibraphone on the first Lard Free official LP (1973), as well as the Clear Light Symphony LP (1975) and Urban Sax. The ‘Sonanbular’ front cover (the industrial devices pictured above) was used for Dominique Grimaud’s epochial book on French 1970s avant-rock ‘Un Certain Rock Français’ volume 1 (1977). Half of the tracks on ‘Sonabular’ are vibes+drums duos where the drums are recorded from a distance, as if from next room (tr.# 1, 4 & 5). But their dialogue is perfectly matched as the drummer adjusts to the vibe player’s bravado. On #4 especially, Wood sounds like a Cecil Taylor on vibraphones. Other tracks, especially the longest ones, arise from mutli-tracked vibraphones (tr.# 3) allowing Wood to build nuanced soundscapes from mostly soft, tiny sounds from 3 different instruments. His techniques includes stereo panning, perspective soundboard mixing and extended vibraphone technique. Woods is not afraid of ugly sounds, sometimes hitting the wooden frame or creating nasty metallic sounds with his mallets. In trying to extend the vibraphone sonic possibilities he sometimes favors the non-resonant sounds of the instrument. Unlike any other vibes player I’ve heard, Wood’s vibraphone playing is unique and owes nothing to Lionel Hampton or the Modern Jazz Quartet.......

Pierre Moerlen, Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Olivier Didier, Patrick Fontaine, Olivier Zdralik, Marcel Bel, Bruno Caroube, all great musicians involved in good progressive music at the time with Robert Wood on an unique instrument, the electric vibes. Sound varies on the tracks but the engineering by Francis Linon (Gong, Magma) catches the excitement and rawness of live performance.

Bass – Beliaev (tracks: B1), Mike Howlett (tracks: B2),
Olivier Zdrzalik (tracks: A1 to A5, B4, B5), Patrick Fontaine (2) (tracks: B3)
Drums – Bruno Caroube (tracks: B1), Marcel Bel (tracks: A1 to A5),
Olivier Didier (tracks: B3 to B5), Pierre Moerlen (tracks: B2)
Effects [Space Echoes] – Venux Deluxe (tracks: B5)
Flute – Didier Malherbe (tracks: B5)
Vibraphone – Robert Wood
Vocals – Robert Wood (tracks: A1 to A5, B1, B3, B5)

A1 Rue St-Martin 1:10
A2 Hammer 6:05
A3 Port Meadow 4:05
A4 Woodlands Walk 2:30
A5 This Is The Meaning Of 6:50
B1 Submariner 2:45
B2 Wagram Jam 4:15
B3 Star 3:45
B4 Hammer' 74 6:05
B5 Tombac / Edwige Medley 3:30

johnkatsmc5, welcome music..